new zine library

ocad-zine4.jpg

Thank you Boing boing for being an interesting, informative time sucker. If it wasn’t for you I wouldn’t have learned about the new zine library at the Ontario College of Art and Design. Thanks Alicia Nauta for taking photos and letting us know how the launch went:

I began collecting the zines in the beginning of September of this year after I approached the OCAD library and asked if I could start the collection. They were totally supportive and helped me find a space in the library to set it up. The collection has a lot of OCAD student’s work- I find alot of students are into indepedant publishing and many of the students in my program (printmaking) make their own zines. There is also a zine course offered at OCAD and the entire class donated their projects to the library.

The launch went great! There over 50 in attendance- there were snacks (cupcakes!) several guest speakers, including the librarian helping me with the collection, the professor that teaches the zine class, a fellow that runs a zine distro in Toronto, as well as the girls that run the Toronto Zine Library. We had a zine workshop where everyone was invited to create a page for a group zine, and a documentary running about zine culture.

I also *heart* the Queer Zine Archive Project and the Zine Archive Publishing Project in Seattle. I sometimes wonder why the best library type projects are not actually happening in libraries.

Say Something

