$46,000 amazing!

I was thrilled to read that in 3 short days that over $46,000 was raised to support Bitch magazine.  There are some very interesting comments on the initial post explaining the financial pickle they are in.  People had some thoughtful things to say about the future of independent media, feminist publishing and exploring new publishing and content creation/distribution models.

Me, I think they’re on to something by exploring how to offer content online through their blog or podcasts, but I would be very sad if the published paper version disappeared soon.  I read differently when I’m not in front of the comptuer.  I like to rearrange the cushions on the couch, make a pot of tea, and enjoy the longer articles.  I read more slowly and get more out of things out of stuff I read on paper.

I know there’s a lot of organizations competing for your dollars, but I would encourage you to donate even a wee bit to keep a fantastic independent, feminist publisher going.

Say Something

